Lauren Keiser Music Publishing

Piano Concerto No. 3

Regular price $26.99 $0.00

I have finally decided to re-create the already-daunting Rach 3 into an even more horrifying but also emotionally satisfying project, which was to make such a large-scale arrangement for solo piano requesting the pianist to combine both the piano and the orchestral accompaniment of Rachmaninoff's original crowning achievement, thus merging an 80-people orchestral sonority onto one person. The process of this project was one of the most artistically educational experiences for me, as I couldn't just take the original score and copy and paste it onto the same instrument, which would've been meaningless and would simply sound like a mess. One has to really work as a sensitive composer to know the differences between the timbres and colors of the piano and that of the orchestra, which requires me to re-arrange registers, minor shifts of structural obstacles, avoidance of over-toned harmonies, and attempt to make it sound like as if it was conceived originally as a grand solo piano sonata instead of just some crazy transcription for showing off. I hope this new version of the Rach 3 can achieve a different kind of in-depth virtuosity and emotional scope and that it may attract interest from my contemporary and future pianists or musicians.

Share this Product

Click to edit the product in Ali Orders.
Note: only show for shop owner